Category: 1957

1957 ASA Major Women’s Slow Pitch Nationals

1957 held at Richmond, Virginia

Champion – Dana Gardens, Cincinnati, OH
Runner Up – Garvin’s Grill, Washington, DC

Dana Garden’s won the first women’s Slow Pitch event defeating Garvin’s Grill 4-1 in the final behind Nancy Conner’s pitching, Alberta Kohls Hitting and the outstanding play of Betty Hamlin. Nancy Conner pitched all 4 games for Dana Gardens and only gave up 8 runs in the 4 games, also hurling a shutout. She held the Washington DC Garvins Grill squad, who had scored 18 runs in their 3 games to just one run in the 4-1 Championship Game. Third Basemen Betty Hamlin was a force on Offense and Defense. Alberta Kohls was awarded the outstanding hitter award as she had a great tournament at the plate.

  • N.F. Jacobs and Son MVP Award – Nancy Conner, Dana Gardens (P), (4-0 pitching, with a shutout, gave up only 8 runs in 4 games)
  • Hillerich & Bradsby Outstanding Hitter Award – Alberta Kohls, Dana Gardens (OF)
  • Outstanding Player Award – Betty Hamlin, Dana Gardens (3B)
  • Rockingham Manager Award– Commie Currens, Dana Gardens


1. Dana Gardens, Cincinnati, OH 4-0
2. Garvin’s Grill, Washington, DC 3-1
3t. Dairy Maids, Richmond, VA 2-2
3t. Legget’s, Fredricksburg, VA 2-2
5t. Mathews Girls, Mathews, VA 1-1
5t. Lakeside Pharmacy, Richmond, VA 1-1
5t. Pollyannas, Richmond, VA 1-1
5t. Adam’s Restaurant, Baltimore, MD 1-1
9t. Martel’s Furniture, Hampton, VA 0-1
9t. Bethel Methodist, Richmond, VA 0-1
9t. Brown-Foreman, Louisville, KY 0-1
9t. Southside, Richmond, VA 0-1
9t. Arrow Blue Jays, Richmond, VA 0-1
9t. Belnap Belles, Louisville, KY 0-1
9t. Virginia Metal Products, Orange, VA 0-1
9t. Herbert Candy Debs, Natick, MA 0-1


Single Elimination
First Round
Garvin’s Grill, Washington, DC 2- Martel’s Furniture, Hampton, VA 0
Pollyannas, Richmond, VA 3- Herbert Candy Debs, Natick, MA 2
Legget’s, Fredricksburg, VA 13- Bethel Methodist, Richmond, VA 1
Lakeside Pharmacy, Richmond, VA 10- Belnap Belles, Louisville, KY 5
Dairy Maids, Richmond, VA 19- Brown-Foreman, Louisville, KY 1
Mathews Girls, Mathews, VA 29- Southside, Richmond, VA 10
Dana Gardens, Cincinnati, OH 10- Arrow Blue Jays, Richmond, VA 0
Adam’s Restaurant, Baltimore, MD 4- Virginia Metal Products, Orange, VA 0


Garvin’s Grill, Washington, DC 8- Pollyannas, Richmond, VA 5
Legget’s, Fredricksburg, VA 8- Lakeside Pharmacy, Richmond, VA 1
Dairy Maids, Richmond, VA 8- Mathews Girls, Mathews, VA 1
Dana Gardens, Cincinnati, OH 2- Adam’s Restaurant, Baltimore, MD 1

Semi Finals

Garvin’s Grill, Washington, DC 8- Legget’s, Fredricksburg, VA 0
Dana Gardens, Cincinnati, OH 7- Dairy Maids, Richmond, VA 6 (8 innings)


Dana Gardens, Cincinnati, OH 4- Garvin’s Grill, Washington, DC 1

1957 ASA Industrial Men’s Major Slow Pitch Nationals

1957 held at Toledo, Ohio.

Champion – G.E. Turbine Jets, Cincinnati, Ohio
Runner Up – Harnischfeger Corporation, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

  • MVP – Not Awarded
  • HR Leader – Carroll Cosby, General Electric Turbine Jets – 7 HR


  • P – Ray Hein, Turbine Jets
  • P – Ed Werdermann, Harnischfeger
  • P – Paul Tellman, Continental Can
  • C – Frank Scumaci, Continental Can
  • C – Ed Wiese, Turbine Jets
  • IF – Paul Fowler, General Electric
  • IF – Jim Segorac, Harnischfeger
  • IF – Joe Stien, Turbine Jets
  • IF – Tom Bohyer, Packard Cable
  • IF – Mike Potter, Harnischfeger
  • OF – Gene Flowers, South Bend F.O.P.
  • OF – Pete Kennedy, Turbine Jets
  • OF – Ed Kompf, Continental Can
  • OF – Walt Kunz, Turbine Jets
  • MGR – Joe Nagy, Cincinnati Jets


1. G.E. Turbine Jets, Cincinnati, OH (5-0)
2. Harnischfeger Corporation, Milwaukee, WI (4-2)
3. Continental Can, Pittsburgh, PA (4-2)
4. Packard Electric Cable, Warren, OH (4-2)
5t. Colligan Morticians, Hamilton, OH (3-2)
5t. General Electric, Louisville, KY (2-2)
7t. Producto Machine, Bridgeport, CT (2-2)
7t. Cincinnati Fire Fighters, Cincinnati, OH (2-2)
9t. General Shoe, Frankfort, KY (3-2)
9t. F.O.P., South Bend, IN (2-2)
9t. Diamond Power, Columbus, OH (1-2)
9t. Edison Engineers, Toledo, OH (1-2)
13t. Brookley Air Force Base, Mobile, AL (1-2)
13t. Babcock Dairy, Toledo, OH (1-2)
13t. White Plains NY Police, Westchester, NY (1-2)
13t. US Army Support Center, St, Louis, MO (0-2)
17t. East Ohio Gas Company, Cleveland, OH (0-2)
17t. Twist Drill Cubs, Cleveland, OH (0-2)
17t. Apex, Sandusky, OH (0-2)

1957 ASA Men’s Open Slow Pitch Nationals

1957 held at Toledo, Ohio.

Champion – Gatliff Auto Sales, Newport, Kentucky
Runner Up – McAdenville Reds, McAdenville, North Carolina

Gatliffs started out winning five straight games including the winners bracket final. Vern Roberts won the first three games, Tom Imfeld won the fourth, then Roberts came back to win the winners bracket final to make Gatliffs the only undefeated team.

McAdenville pounded out 20 hits, including 5 HR (Bill Campo, Mason Leeper, Harold Helton, Red Jenkins and Carroll Beale) while defeating Lotus Club of Pittsburgh 18-12 in the losers bracket final. Then they came back and defeated ace hurler Vern Roberts and unbeaten Gatliffs 13-10 in the first championship game.

Gatliff’s came back with Tom Imfeld pitching again and won the final game 8-4. Myron Reinhardt started off the hitting barrage with a 2-run homer in the first inning. Three straight home runs followed off the bats of Dan Heilman, Ralph Bo Stutebeck and Alex Burhart.

Reinhardt later added another home run. He finished the last game 2-3 with 2 HR, 3 RBI and 2 Runs scored.

Red Jenkins pitched all 7 games for McAdenville.

Vern Roberts finished the tournament with a 4-1 pitching record. In a word of note, Frank Matoh of Sheffield Bronze set a tournament record by hitting 4 consecutive Home Runs in one game during Sheffield’s 19-7 win over the Staten Island Stoppers of NYC.

  • MVP – No MVP Awarded (Many sources say Myron Reinhardt would have won easily leading Gatliffs to the title, batting .680  and winning the HR award)
  • HR Leader – Myron Reinhardt, Gatliff’s Auto Sales (17-25, .680) – 8
  • Batting Leader – Phil Perlongo, 5&10 Tap (16-23) – .696


  • P – Tom Imfeld, Gatliff’s (2-0)
  • P – Ray Red Jenkins, McAdenville (5-2)
  • P – Phil Perlongo, 5&10 Tap (4-2 Pitching and 16-23, .696)
  • C – Joe Wooten, McAdenville (12-24, .500, 3 HR)
  • C – Jim McKenzie, Lotus Club
  • IF – Don Whitford, Gatliff’s
  • IF – JD McDonald, McAdenville
  • IF – John Henry, Gatliff’s
  • IF – John Beam, McAdenville (2 HR)
  • IF – Harold Helton, McAdenville – (12-22, .545, HR)
  • OF – Joe Lacher, Lotus Club
  • OF – Myron Reinhardt, Gatliff’s (17-25, .680, 8 HR)
  • OF – Jack Moser, 5&10 Tap
  • OF – Bob Fisher, Lotus Club
  • MGR – Al Brausch, Gatliff’s


Vern Roberts, Gatliffs (4-1) pitching


1. Gatliff Auto Sales, Newport, KY (6-1)
2. McAdenville Reds, McAdenville, NC (6-2)
3. Lotus Club, Pittsburgh, PA (4-2)
4. 5&10 Tap, Milwaukee, WI (4-2)
5t. Westwood Merchants, Dayton, OH (4-2)
5t. Sheffield Bronze, Cleveland, OH (4-2)
7t. Viking Insurance Agency A.C., Wantagh, NY (3-2)
7t. Spot Tavern, Creighton, PA (3-2)
9t. Knoxville Police, Knoxville, TN (3-2)
9t. Cincy Mat Stoppers, Staten Island, NY (3-2)
9t. Rip’s All Stars, Detroit, MI (2-2)
9t. Macomber Inc., Canton, OH (2-2)
13t. – Neighborhood Inn, Toledo, OH (2-2)
13t. Homer’s Boys, Louisville, KY (2-2)
13t. Ethiers Café, Worcester, MA (2-2)
13t. Hill City Club, Rome, GA (2-2)
17t. Armands, Sandusky, OH (1-2)
17t. Legion Post #435, Richfield, MN (1-2)
17t. Latonia A.C., Covington, KY (1-2)
17t. Dutt’s Drug, Akron, OH (1-2)
17t. Snafu Club, Sheboygan, WI (1-2)
17t. Country Charm, Toledo, OH (0-2)
17t. Ben’s Bar, Sidney, OH (0-2)
17t. T.T. Bearings,  Rochester, NY (0-2)
25t. Elks Club #295, Warren, OH (0-2)
25t. 2424 Club, Minneapolis, MN (0-2)
25t. Marion Grill, Columbus, OH (0-2)
25t. Rosmarin Reality, Cincinnati, OH (0-2)
25t. Duraflex, Buena Vista, VA (0-2)