1971 ASA Men’s Major Fast Pitch Nationals

1971 held at Springfield, Missouri.

Champion – Welty Way, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Runner Up – Raybestos Cardinals, Stratford, Connecticut

Jerry Ralfs, Welty Way (3-0, 17 IP, 22 K) and Richie Stephens, Welty Way (2-0, 35 IP, 30 K)

Mike Pallesen, Welty Way (3-run HR difference in 5-2 championship game victory)

Bob Bickford, Mesa (3-2)

Clearwater Bombers won 62 consecutive games during the regular season

Raybestos Pitching- Dick Norenburg (3-1), Al Lewis (2-0), Metro Szeryk (2-1)

Dick Brubaker, Anixter Bombers (No Hitter with 19 K in 7 inning game)

  • MVP – Ty Stofflet, Rising Sun Hotel (3-2, Perfect Game, 43 IP, 79 K, 33 K in a 16 inning game, and was 6-20, .300 batting)
  • Batting Leader – Al Yaeger, Raybestos Cardinals (10-22, 2 RBI, 6 Runs) – .455
  • Home Run Leader – N/A
  • Most Outstanding Pitcher Award  – Roy Burlison, Anixter Bombers (3-2, 35 K in a 16 inning game, 98 K total, 43 IP)


P – Roy Burlison, Anixter Bombers
P – Ty Stofflet, Rising Sun
P – Jerry Ralfs, Welty Way
C – Don Benedict, Raybestos Cardinals
C – Dick Zuccato, Welty Way
1B – George Adam, Raybestos Cardinals
2B – Bob Barron, Anixter Bombers
3B – Chuck Page, Masterbilt Motors
SS – John Anquillare, Raybestos Cardinals
OF – Al Yaeger, Raybestos Cardinals
OF – Mike Pallesen, Welty Way
OF – Carl Walker, Raybestos Cardinals
OF – Bruce Pitts, Armed Forces
UTIL – Mike McElrath, Wiegand Engineers


P – Jay Bob Bickford, Sports Club
P – Al Lewis, Raybestos Cardinals
P – Richie Stephen, Welty Way
C – Marvin Harris, Masterbilt Motors
C – Pat Whitten, Wiegand Engineers
1B – Robbie Robinson, Armed Forces
2B – Phillip Johnson, Armed Forces
3B – Jerry Jenkins, Anixter Bombers
SS – John Muench, Welty Way
OF – Gary Stephenson, Masterbilt Motors
OF – Paul Price, Rising Sun
OF – Bill LeSeur, Sports Club
OF – Cliff Rice, Welty Way
UTIL – Mickey Herbert, Chuck’s Dairy


1. Welty Way, Cedar Rapids, IA (5-0) (Western)
2. Raybestos Cardinals, Stratford, CT (6-2) (Defending Champ)
3. Anixter Bombers, Skokie, IL (4-2) (West Central)
4. Rising Sun Hotel, Reading, PA (3-2) (Central Atlantic)
5t. Masterbilt Motors, Oklahoma City, OK (4-2) (Southwestern)
5t. Sports Clubs of America, Mesa, AZ (3-2) (Cactus)
7t. Armed Forces, USA (4-2) (Armed Forces)
7t. Wiegand Engineers, Fort Worth, TX (2-2) (Texas)
9t. Chuck’s Dairy, Minneapolis, MN (2-2) (Northern)
9t. Falstaff Brewers, Fall River, MA (1-2) (New England)
9t. Shell Oilers, Nashville, TN (1-2) (South Atlantic)
9t. Little Brauhaus, Poughkeepsie, NY (1-2) (Mid-Atlantic)
13t. Clearwater Bombers, Clearwater, FL (1-2) (Southern)
13t. Scenic Riley, Springfield, MO (1-2) (Host)
13t. Muzio Bakery, Sacramento, CA (0-2) (North Pacific Coast)
13t. Lakewood Truckers, Lakewood, CA (0-2) (South Pacific Coast)
17t. Nothdurft Tool, Detroit, MI (0-2) (East Central)
17t. Pay ‘n Pak, Seattle, WA (0-2) (Northwestern)
17t. Puueo Poi, Hilo, HI (0-2) (Hawaii)
17t. Hagestad VW, Englewood, CO (0-2) (Rocky Mountain)

NOTES: Alaska Champ – Alaska Builders Cache, Anchorage, AK did not attend. Hawaii Champ – Midas Muffler, Oahu, HI listed as champ, but Puueo Poi, Hilo, Hi attended.


You may also like...