1953 ASA Men’s Major Fast Pitch Nationals

1953 held at Miami, Florida.

Champion – Briggs Beautyware, Detroit, Michigan
Runner Up – Clearwater Bombers, Clearwater, Florida

John Spring, Briggs Beautyware (5-1, 41 IP, 47 K, 3 shutouts on final day, including 1-0 losers bracket final victory over State Farm and then; 2-0 and 1-0 shutouts over Clearwater in the finals, Spring only surrendered 5 hits total in the two championship games. He pitched 5 games in 24 hours). In the final 2 games, he defeated two of the greatest pitchers in the game in John Hunter and Herb Dudley.

Paul Hoke Wilson led State Farm Insurance to a third place finish, lost a 1-0 losers bracket final to John Spring and the Briggs team.

  • MVP – John Spring, Briggs Beautyware
  • Batting Leader – Joe Morecraft, Trenton Democrats (6-16, 2 HR, 6 RBI, 4 Runs, the 6 RBIs were in one game) – .375
  • Home Run Leader – Joe Morecraft, Trenton Democrats – 2


P – John Hunter, Clearwater Bombers (3-1, 35 K, lost 1-0 one-hitter in the final for first defeat in national play after 10 straight wins)
P – John Spring, Briggs Beautyware
P – Paul Hoke Wilson, State Farm Insurance (4-0, 27 IP, 24 K) – led them to a third place finish, lost a 1-0 losers bracket final to John Spring and the Briggs team. Howie Wieland was 1-1 for State Farm with a no hitter.
C – Jack Sweeting, American Industrial Flyers
1B – George Adam, Trenton Democratic Club
2B – Joe Everett, Clearwater Bombers
3B – Knobby Rosa, American Industrial Flyers
SS – Otto Salzman, State Farm Insurance
OF – Al Linde, Dow Chemical (5-14, .357, 1 Run)
OF – Dave Sayyae, Briggs Beautyware
OF – Bobby Forbes, Clearwater Bombers
UTIL – Jerry Zarick, Briggs Beautyware


Howie Wieland, State Farm Insurance was 1-1 with a no hitter.
Arno Lamb, AIS Miami Flyers was 3-1.
Herb Dudley, Clearwater Bombers hurled a 3-0 no hitter and then lost a 2-0 game to finish 1-1.
Rocco Palmeri, Briggs Beautyware, solo HR in 4th inning of final championship was only hit off John Hunter to give Briggs a 1-0 win and the title.


1. Briggs Beautyware, Detroit, MI (6-1) (Defending Champs)
2. Clearwater Bombers, Clearwater, FL (4-2) (Southern)
3. State Farm Insurance, Bloomington, IL (5-2) (West Central)
4. American Industrial Sales (AIS), Miami, FL (4-2) (Host)
5t. Dow Chemical AC, Midland, MI (2-2) (East Central)
5t. Jersey Ice Cream, Minneapolis, MN (2-2) (Northern)
7t. Elmendorf AFB Rockets, Anchorage, AK (2-2) (US Air Force)
7t. Trenton Democrats, Baltimore, MD (2-2) (Central Atlantic)
9t. Kenny Poe Plumbers, Boise, ID (1-2) (Northwestern)
9t. Gators, Lake Jackson, TX (1-2) (Texas)
9t. Phillips 66 Oilers, Okmulgee, OK (1-2) (Southwestern)
9t. Kroszer’s Restaurant, Bridgeport, CT (1-2) (North Atlantic)
13t. Chapel-of-the-Oaks, Oakland, CA (0-2) (North Pacific Coast)
13t. Rochester Radio, Rochester, NY (0-2) (Mid-Atlantic)
13t. Heart-of-America Tobacco, Kansas City, MO (0-2) (Western)
13t. Naval Air Station, Denver, CO (0-2) (Rocky Mountain)


Kenny Poe Plumbers, Boise, ID went in place of Northwestern Champ Tacoma, WA, who could not attend. Cactus Champ – Peterson Brothers, Mesa, AZ who could not attend. South Pacific Coast Champ, Palemar Foods, San Diego, CA did not attend. US Army Champ, Green Hornets, Fort Lee, VA could not attend. US Navy Champ – US Navy Patrol Squadron 42, Kodiak, AK could not attend. East Canada Champ – Northern Electric, Verdun, Quebec could not attend. West Canada Champ – Giorday Fruits, Vancouver, British Columbia could not attend. Casino Espanol, Havana, Cuba did not attend.


You may also like...