1970 ASA Men’s Major Fast Pitch Nationals

1970 held at Jack Russell Stadium in Clearwater, Florida on September 10-19.

Champion – Raybestos Cardinals, Stratford, Connecticut
Runner Up – Nothdurft Tool, Detroit, Michigan

A single to right field by second baseman George Goodchild who was returning to action after a six week layoff because of a broken arm, produced the deciding run as the Raybestos Cardinals annexed the national men’s softball championship for the second straight year with a 3-2 victory over Nothdurft Tool in Jack Russell Stadium.

Left fielder Al Yaeger set the stage for the tie breaking socre in the tournament finale when he singled with one out in the decisive sixth inning. After Don Benedict broke for second base with a 1-0 count on Goodchild and moved up to third on a while pitch by Nothdurft Tool’s pitching ace Bonnie Jones for his game winning hit.

  • MVP – John Anquillare, Raybestos Cardinals
  • Batting Leader – John Anquillare, Raybestos Cardinals – .500)
  • Home Run Leader – 9 players tied with 1
  • Most Outstanding Pitcher Award  – Bonnie Jones, Nothdurft Tool & Die (8-2, 66 IP, 59 K, 46 Consecutive Scoreless Innings)


P – Bonnie Jones, Nothdurft Tool
P – Metro Szeryk, Raybestos Cardinals (3-0, gave up 1 run)
P – Al DeWall, Whitaker Buick (3-0, 29 IP, 37 K, 2 Shutouts)
C – Harry Haroian, Nothdurft Tool
C – Bill Leffler, LeBlanc Barons
1B – Frank Pilarowski, Nothdurft Tool
2B – Ray Phillips, LeBlanc Barons
3B – Bob Bellmore, Raybestos Cardinals
SS – John Anquillare, Raybestos Cardinals (10-20, .500, 2 RBI, 4 Runs)
OF – Bill Stewart, Little Brauhaus
OF – Glenn Beamon, LeBlanc Barons
OF – Fred Cason, Nothdurft Tool
OF – Carl Walker, Raybestos Cardinals
UTIL – Evans Telegades, Nothdurft Tool


P – Rocky Marucci, Little Brauhaus
P – Dick Norenberg, Raybestos Cardinals (2-0, gave up 0 runs)
P – K.G. Fincher, LeBlanc Barons (2-0, 21 IP, 25 K, 2 Shutouts)
C – Jerry Cooper, Morgan Truckers
C – John Sheehan, Whitaker Buick
1B – Skip Magiera, Anixter Brothers
2B – Steve Aurigemma, Little Brauhaus
3B – Wilson Wilson, Nothdurft Tool
SS – Terry Muck, Whitaker Buick
OF – Mike Summerbell, LeBlanc Barons
OF – Mike Patton, Whitaker Buick
OF – Bill Hielscher, Nothdurft Tool
OF – Joe Molinaro, Little Brauhaus
UTIL – Tommy Moore, Clearwater Bombers


Al Lewis, Raybestos Cardinals (1-0, 9 IP, 15 K, gave up 2 runs)


1. Raybestos Cardinals, Stratford, CT (6-0) (Defending Champ)
2. Nothdurft Tool, Detroit, MI (7-2) (East Central)
3. Whitaker Buick, St. Paul, MN (3-2) (Northern)
4. LeBlanc Barons, Sunnyvale, CA (4-2) (North Pacific Coast)
5t. Turner Electric, Montgomery, AL (2-2) (Southern)
5t. Anixter Brothers, Skokie, IL (2-2) (West Central)
7t. Little Brauhaus, Poughkeepsie, NY (2-2) (Mid Atlantic)
7t. Clearwater Bombers, Clearwater, FL (3-2) (Host)
9t. Capital Motors Toyotas, Chattanooga, TN (1-2) (South Atlantic)
9t. West Construction, Salt Lake City, UT (1-2) (Rocky Mountain)
9t. FE Bailey Contractors, Mesa, AZ (1-2) (Cactus)
9t. Morgan Truckers, Lakewood, CA (2-2) (South Pacific Coast)
13t. Scenic Shoppers, Springfield, MO (1-2) (Western)
13t. Mead Samuel, Seattle, WA (0-2) (Northwestern)
13t. Gansett 57 Brewers, Providence, RI (1-2) (New England)
13t. Stephens Truck Line, Lake Charles, LA (0-2) (Southwestern)
17t. Bill Clark Sporting Goods, Lovelland, TX (0-2) (Texas)
17t. Flat Iron AC, Philadelphia, PA (0-2) (Central Atlantic)
17t. US Armed Forces, USA (0-2) (Armed Forces)


Alaska Champ – Alaska Builders Cache, Anchorage, AK did not attend. Hawaii Champ – Midas Muffler, Oahu, HI did not attend. Canada Champ – London TV Cable, Ontario did not attend.


You may also like...