1972 ASA Men’s Major Fast Pitch Nationals

1972 held at Dallas, Texas on September 10-16.

Champion – Raybestos Cardinals, Stratford, Connecticut
Runner Up – Clearwater Bombers, Clearwater, Florida

Left fielder Al Yaeger singles with the bases loaded in the eight inning as the Raybestos Cardinals defeated the Clearwater Bombers 1-0 to win the national fastpitch championship.

Yaeger’s one out single off Bomber right hander Bob Quinn broke up a tight pitcher’s duel.

  • MVP – Metro Szeryk, Raybestos Cardinals
  • Batting Leader – Vinnie Caserto, Little Brauhaus – .444
  • Home Run Leader – Larry Daniels, Clearwater Bombers – 3
  • Home Run Leader – Doug Mason, Clearwater Bombers – 3
  • Home Run Leader – Gerry DeFiglio, Little Brauhaus – 3
  • Most Outstanding Pitcher Award – Metro Szeryk, Raybestos Cardinals


P – Metro Szeryk, Raybestos Cardinals (4-0, 26 IP, 29 K, gave up only 1 run,  pitched 1-0 final)
P – Chuck D’Arcy, Sargent’s (3-1)
P – Al Lewis, Raybestos Cardinals (2-0)
C – Dick Paparo, Clearwater Bombers
C – Jack Tillery, Armed Forces
1B – Don Speed, Clearwater Bombers
2B – Tommy Moore, Clearwater Bombers
3B – Doug Mason, Clearwater Bombers (7-18, .389, 5 RBI, 4 Runs)
SS – John Anquillare, Raybestos Cardinals
OF – Don Marrs, Scenic Shoppers
OF – Al Yaeger, Raybestos Cardinals
OF – Vinnie Caserto, Little Brauhaus (8-18, 5 RBI, 7 Runs)
OF – Joe Molinaro, Little Brauhaus
UTIL – Bob Bellmore, Raybestos Cardinals


P – Bobby Quinn, Clearwater Bombers (2-2)
P – Dick Christensen, Pay ‘n Pak
P – Cliff Ong, Little Brauhaus
C – Junior Williams, Scenic Shoppers
C – Gerry DeFiglio, Little Brauhaus (6-9, .667, 4 RBI, 4 Runs)
1B – George Adam, Raybestos Cardinals
2B – Phillip Johnson, Armed Forces
3B – Don Dungee, Little Brauhaus
SS – Roger Bledsoe, Pay ‘n Pak
OF – Andy Stunick, Sargent’s
OF – Larry Daniels, Clearwater Bombers (6-17, .353, 7 RBI, 3 Runs)
OF – Carl Walker, Raybestos Cardinals
OF – Bob Green, Hagestad’s VW
UTIL – Bill Cooper, Clearwater Bombers


1. Raybestos Cardinals, Stratford, CT (6-0) (New England)
2. Clearwater Bombers, Clearwater, FL (4-2) (Southern)
3. Little Brauhaus, Poughkeepsie, NY (5-2) (Mid-Atlantic)
4. Sargents, Sacramento, CA (3-2) (North Pacific Coast)
5t. Hagestad VW, Englewood, CO (3-2) (Rocky Mountain)
5t. Armed Forces, USA (3-2) (Armed Forces)
7t. Welty Way, Cedar Rapids, IA (2-2) (Defending Champ)
7t. Pay ‘n Pak, Seattle, WA (2-2) (Northwestern)
9t. Scenic Shoppers, Springfield, MO (2-2) (Western)
9t. Wilsey Construction, Indianapolis, IN (1-2) (West Central)
9t. Light Crete, Inc., Ann Arbor, MI (1-2) (East Central)
9t. Whitaker Buick, St. Paul, MN (1-2) (Northern)
13t. U-Kamp, Phoenix, AZ (1-2) (Cactus)
13t. AB & S Sports, Inglewood, CA (1-2) (South Pacific Coast)
13t. Schaefer Beer, Baltimore, MD (0-2) (Central Atlantic)
13t. Robertson Plumbing, Greenville, MS (0-2) (Southwestern)
17t. Combustion Engineers, Chattanooga, TN (0-2) (South Atlantic)
17t. Pal’s National Paint, Dallas, TX (0-2) (Host)
17t. SH Lynch, Dallas, TX (0-2) (Texas)


Alaska Champ – Alaska Builders Cache, Anchorage, AK did not attend. Hawaii Champ – Midas Muffler, Oahu, HI did not attend. Canada Champ – Weyburn Canadians, Saskatchewan did not attend.


You may also like...