1954 ASA Men’s Major Fast Pitch Nationals

1954 held at Parade One in Minneapolis, Minnesota on September 18-23.

Champion – Clearwater Bombers, Clearwater, Florida
Runner Up – Briggs Beautyware, Detroit, Michigan

Clearwater’s Bombers, halted thrice at the very doorstep of the ASA World championship in the last six years, crashed the barrier for the second time as they gained revenge on defending champion Briggs Beautyware 4-0, before 6,100 fants on the magnificent one-hitter by southpaw-firing Johnny Hunter.

Bounced into the losers’ bracket when Hunter slammed the door shut on them with a ho-hitter, the Detroiters roared back by defeating State Farm Insurance of Bloomington, IL, 3-0, only to discover Hunter waiting for them again with the same diet of zero pitches in the finale.

The triumph was the fifth in a row without a loss for manager Eddie Moore’s Floridians and they won it like true championship since they twice KO’d Briggs Beautyware which had been aiming for its third consecutive title and fifth in ASA history.

En route to the championship, Clearwater defeated Naval Air Station 7-6, De Jur Amsco 1-0, Penridge Athletic Club, 3-2 and Briggs Beautyware by 1-0 and 4-0.

The Bombers previously won the ASA crown in 1950. In 1949 they dropped an 18-inning final to Tip Tailors of Toronto; in ’51 they lost a double final to Dow Athletic Club of Midland, Mich., with hunter sidelined by an arm injury, and last year Briggs Beautyware came out of the loser’s bracket to hand them a double defeat.

The Bombers was held in check for four innings before uncorking a four-run shower in the fifth against relievers Gerry Deerfield and Al Wierzbicki to bag the championship.

Until the fateful fifth the Bombers were handcuffed by Johnny Spring, hero of Brigg’s title march when he pitched three shutouts on the final day. Spring once against had sparked Briggs through the early rounds with some superb hurling and showed a 5-1 record going into the showdown game.

The umpire in chief for the tournament was George Dickstein who appointed Art Solz, Minneapolis umpire in chief, as the assistant umpire in chief.

  • MVP – John Hunter, Clearwater Bombers
  • Batting Leader – Al Martin, Denver NAS (5-11) – .455
  • Home Run Leader – Tom Brown, Penridge AC (3-14, .215, 4 RBI) – 1
  • Home Run Leader – Nolan Whitlock, Clearwater Bombers – 1
  • Home Run Leader – Don Miles, State Farm Insurance- 1
  • Home Run Leader – George Adams, Briggs Beautyware – 1
  • Home Run Leader – Williams, Babbitt Realty – 1


P – John Hunter, Clearwater Bombers (3-0, 21 IP, 33 K, no-hitter and 1-hitter in last 2 games)
P – John Spring, Briggs Beautyware (5-1, 43 IP, 60 K)
P – Clarence “Buck” Miller, Standard Parts (3-1, 36 IP, 59 K).
C – Marion Cook, Standard Parts
1B – George Adam, Trenton Democratic Club
2B – Don Miles, State Farm Insurance
3B – Ed Antolini, Naval Air Station Denver
SS – Nolan Whitlock, Clearwater Bombers
LF – Thomas Brown, Penridge AC
CF – Ken Sommers, De Jur Amsco
RF – Al Martin, Naval Air Station Denver
UTIL – Frank Harvey, Penridge AC


Herb Dudley, Clearwater Bombers (2-0, 15 IP, 22 K)
Ollie Johnston, DeJur (3-0, 22 IP, 29 K)
Bill Gourley, Penridge AC (3-0, 21 IP, 22 K)
Paul Hoke Wilson, Bloomington Chiefs (2-0)
Wayne Ward, Bloomington Chiefs (2-1)
Howie Wieland, Raybestos Cardinals (1-1)  set a national softball record in the North Atlantic Regionals as he hurled 6 consecutive no-hitters to win the crown.


1. Clearwater Bombers, Clearwater, FL (5-0) (Southern)
2. Briggs Beautyware, Detroit, MI (5-2) (Defending Champ)
3. State Farm Insurance, Bloomington, IL (4-2) (West-Central)
4. Penridge AC, Cincinnati, OH (3-2) (East-Central)
5t. Standard Auto Parts, Memphis, TN (3-2) (Southwestern)
5t. De Jur Amsco, Long Island, NY (3-2) (Mid-Atlantic)
7t. Babbitt Realty, Houston, TX (2-2) (Texas)
7t. Trenton Democrats, Baltimore, MD (2-2) (Central-Atlantic)
9t. Naval Air Station, Denver, CO (2-2) (Rocky-Mountain)
9t. Renton Cowboys, Seattle, WA (1-2) (Northwestern)
9t. New Bar, St. Paul, MN (1-2) (Northern)
9t. Raybestos Cardinals, Stratford, CT (1-2) (North-Atlantic)
13t. Broekers Cigars, St. Louis, MO (1-2) (Western)
13t. Jersey Ice Cream, Minneapolis, MN (1-2) (Host)
13t. Casino Espanol, Havana (0-2) (Cuba)
13t. Lackland AFB, San Antonio, TX (0-2) (US-Air-Force)
17t. Roughriders, Napa, CA (0-2) (North-Pacific-Coast)
17t. S-Site, Los Alomos, NM (0-2) (Cactus)


South-Pacific-Coast Champ – Pepsi Cola Bottlers, San Diego, CA did not attend. East-Canada Champ – Steinberg’s, Montreal, Quebec did not attend. West-Canada Champ – McLean Motors, Vancouver, British Columbia did not attend. US-Navy Champ – US Navy Patrol Squadron 22, Kodiak, AK did not attend.

1954 Clearwater Bombers


You may also like...