1981 ASA Men’s Major Fast Pitch Nationals

1981 held at St. Joseph, Missouri.

Champion – Peterbilt Western, Seattle, Washington
Runner Up – Midwest Galleries, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

After Ashland stunned ADM with a 2-0 victory behind the shutout pitching of Hank Miller and forcing the extra game, ADM’s Mike Fenton 11th inning single scored Brian Rothrock with the winning run to win the championship. Ashland’s pitcher Hank Miller held ADM scoreless for 17 straight innings, before the losing run.

61 year old Herb Dudley, Clearwater Bombers was named to the first team All-America tea m as a Relief Pitcher as he recorded 2 saves (3 IP, 2 Ks) and became the oldest pitcher to ever pitch in an ASA National. He saved the Bombers 4-2 victory coming in the 7th inning with the bases loaded and giving up a ground ball and the struck out the last batter. Then against last year’s champ, he came in with his team leading 3-2 in the 6th inning, 2 runners on base and no outs, he retired three men in a row and then in the 7th inning, did the same to preserve the win.

Hank Miller, Ashland Falutless Rubber (4-1) pitched brilliantly. Dick Riley (1-1) also pitched for Ashland.

Ty Stofflett, Reading Sunners (4-1, 2 shutouts, Perfect Game, 41 IP, 69 Ks) – his ASA National Record now stands at 32-7.

Brian Rothrock and Steve Kerian of Decatur both collected 11 hits in the tournament). ADM stands for Archer Daniels Midland Co.

  • MVP – Dave Scott, ADM (6-1, 76 K, 51 IP, 3 ER)
  • Batting Leader – Steve Moore, Reading Sunners (8-20, HR, 5 RBI) – .400
  • Batting Leader – Leon Wood, Clearwater Bombers (8-20) – .400
  • Home Run Leader – Jeff Seip, Reading Sunners (5-14, .357, 3B, 7 BB) – 2
  • Home Run Leader – Jim Messmer, Ashland – 2
  • Home Run Leader – Charles Blakley, Walnut Products – 2
  • Most Outstanding Pitcher Award  – Dave Scott, ADM (struck out 20 batters in ADM’s 1-0 11inning championship game win)


P – Tim Reynolds, Walnut Products
P – Hank Miller, Faultless Rubber Company
P – Dave Scott, Decatur ADM
RP – Herb Dudley, Clearwater Bombers
C – Mark Crawford, Decatur ADM
C – Chip Kunnen, Clearwater Bombers
1B – Darryl Day, Decatur ADM
2B – Mike Fenton, Decatur ADM
3B – Steve Moore, Billard
SS – Leon Wood, Clearwater Bombers
OF – Ray Truluck, Clearwater Bombers
OF – Alan Rohrback, Jets
OF – Mike Nevin, Guanella Brothers
OF – Bob Miller, Peterbilt
UTIL – Jim Messner, Faultless Rubber Company


P – Chuck D’Arcy, Guanella Brothers
P – Vaughn Alvey, Miller Toyota
P – Ty Stofflet, Billard
C – Jim Marsh, Guanella Brothers
C – Mike Van Dyne, Faultless Rubber Company
1B – Bob Aquilar, Jets
2B – David Grimes, Clearwater Bombers
3B – Ted Hicks, Decatur ADM
SS – Vin Sausa, Solomon’s Sports Shop
OF – Charles Blakely, Walnut Products
OF – Rick Riley, Jets
OF – Mark Burris, Decatur ADM
OF – Pete Zoppi, Franklin Cardinals
UTIL – Jeff Seip, Billard


1. Peterbilt Western, Seattle, WA (6-0) (Northwestern)
2. Midwest Galleries, Cedar Rapids, IA (4-2) (Mid America)
3. Home Savings & Loan, Aurora, IL (5-2) (Midwest)
4. Guanella Brothers, Santa Rosa, CA (3-2) (Pacific Coast-At Large)
5t. Lakewood Jets, Lakewood, CA (4-2) (Pacific Coast)
5t. Clearwater Bombers, Clearwater, FL (2-2) (Southern)
7t. Decatur ADM, Decatur, IL (3-2) (Host)
7t. Made Rite Potato Chips, Bay City, MI (3-2) (Great Lakes- At Large)
9t. Walnut Products, St. Joseph, MO (2-2) (Mid America-At Large)
9t. Rochester Rockets, Rochester, NY (2-2) (Mid-Atlantic)
9t. York Barbell, Reading, PA (2-2) (Central Atlantic-At Large)
9t. All American Bar, St. Paul, MN (2-2) (Northern)
13t. McArdle Pontiac, Midland, MI (2-2) (Defending Champ)
13t. Ohio Caverns, West Liberty, OH (2-2) (East Central)
13t. Poindexter Lumber, Winston-Salem, NC (1-2) (South Atlantic)
13t. Butt’r Top, Clear Lake, IA (1-2) (Northern- At Large)
17t. Petrochen Kings, Camerillo, CA (1-2) (Pacific Coast-At Large)
17t. Plangger’s Furniture, Benton Harbor, MI (1-2) (Great Lakes)
17t. Poyner’s, Portales, NM (0-2) (Rocky Mountain-Cactus)
17t. Hampshire, Baltimore, MD (0-2) (Central Atlantic)
17t. Bad Bob’s, Memphis, TN (0-2) (Southwestern)
17t. Southern States Petroleum, Ogden, UT (0-2) (Rocky Mountain-Alpine)
17t. Interstate Batterymen, Spencer, MA (0-2) (New England)
17t. Odessa Merchants, Odessa, TX (0-2) (Texas)

NOTES: Poyner’s, Portales, NM went in place went in place of Rocky Mountain-Cactus Champ – Reno Toyota, Reno, NV, who could not attend.


You may also like...