1998 USSSA B Men’s Slow Pitch Worlds

1998 held at Liberty Park in Sterling Heights, Michigan.

Champion – Mountain Top, Michigan
Runner Up – Gorilla/Worth, Arizona

Mountain Top wins second USSSA B title in 5 years. Mountain Top of Michigan lost to top-ranked Gorilla Construction of Arizona in the winner’s bracket final (15-13) in the 48-team tournament at Liberty Park in Sterling Heights, Mich. Mountain Top then beat Perkins of Ohio in the losers bracket final, with Perkins winding up in third place. Mountain Top won the first game of the championship round 16-12. They then beat the Gorilla in the “if” game by the run-rule score of 24-9.

Mountain Toppers on the All-World team included: Jeff Jaborro, Bob Hoovener (Best Offensive), Mark Contak (MVP), Al Speeza, Chuckie Mariaona, Jim Caverly, Al Krezewski, and Donny Sikora. Defense was the key to the championsip. Al Krezewski fielded the middle, Al Speeza and Mark Contak played outstanding in the outfield, and the Top’s infield (Jim Caverly at 2B, Chuck Mariaona at Middle, and Donny Sikora at SS) sparkled. Another Michigan team, Calvert, won the USSSA B crown two years ago.

While Gorilla came in ranked No. 1 in the USSSA Class B, Jones Frame of North Carolina was second, Perkins of Ohio third and Scott Farms of North Carolina fourth.

Others named to the all-tournament team: Mike Riordan (defense), Jeff White, Curtis Horger, Brett Snyder and Tim Green from Gorilla; Tony Sharkias, Shawn Mullins, Rusty McGinnis and Dave Soult from Perkins; and Randy Freiderich, Carl Taylor and veteran Curt Dusek from Snap-On.

  • MVP – Mark Contak, Mountain Top
  • Best Offensive – Bob Hoovener, Mountain Top
  • Best Defense – Mike Riordan, Gorilla/Worth


  • Jeff Jaborro, Mountain Top
  • Bob Hoovener, Mountain Top
  • Mark Contak, Mountain Top
  • Al Speeza, Mountain Top
  • Chuck Mariaona, Mountain Top
  • Jim Caverly, Mountain Top
  • Al Krezewski, Mountain Top
  • Donny Sikora, Mountain Top
  • Mike Riordan, Gorilla/Worth
  • Jeff White, Gorilla/Worth
  • Curtis Horger, Gorilla/Worth
  • Brett Snyder, Gorilla/Worth
  • Tim Green, Gorilla/Worth
  • Tony Sharkias, Perkins
  • Shawn Mullins, Perkins
  • Rusty McGinnis, Perkins
  • Dave Soult, Perkins
  • Randy Freiderich
  • Carl Taylor, Snap-On
  • Curt Dusek, Snap-On

FINAL STANDINGS (48 total teams played)

1. Mountain Top (Michigan)
2. Gorilla/Worth (Arizona)
3. Perkins Roofing (Ohio)
4. Snap-On (Illinois)
5t. Oakland Plumbing (Michigan)
5t. Freeze (Ohio)
7t. Scott Farms (N.C.)
7t. Harlo (Michigan)
9t. Jones Frame (N.C.)
9t. Wartrom (Michigan)
9t. Shones/Prism (Ohio)
9t. RES (Colorado)
13t. Mizuno/DeMarini (Arizona)
13t. Bones (Nevada)
13t. Marnell Corroa (Neveda)
13t. PSI/Mizuno (Minnesota)
17t. Zada (Michigan)
17t. Johnny Electric (Calif.)
17t. Top Line (Arizona)
17t. Hump’s (Ohio)
17t. Web Works (Michigan)
17t. American Eagle (Minn.)
17t. RSC (Calif.)
17t. Twohig III (Ohio)


You may also like...